The hard work, true volunteer spirit and dedication of Sean Finn to his community in Mitchelstown was recognised and acknowledged last week, as he won the individual award for the Northern Division at the Cork County Lord Mayor’s Awards.

Speaking after he won the award, Sean said that he was ‘delighted and surprised’.

Most recently, his work in the community has been focused on the restoration and refurbishment of Forrest Hall in the Square in Mitchelstown, which is due to open in the summer.

This will give much needed office space and meeting rooms for groups such as Cloyne Diocesan Youth Services, Mitchelstown Youth Café and others.

As chairperson of Mitchelstown Community Council, he was also instrumental in many initiatives over the years, including the creation of allotments near the Catholic church.

In his role as a nominee on the Board of Management of Bunscoil na Toirbhirte from 1992-2015, he worked tirelessly to ensure that the school was maintained to the highest standard and availed of every grant to improve and modernise the building.

On receiving his award, Sean said that he was deeply honoured and never expected such a nomination.

He thanked Cllr Frank O’Flynn and the other county councillors who are always most helpful to him and thanked Therese Horgan and Ger and Kayren Brennan who liaised with Cllr O’Flynn in the run up to the awards.

People from across the community have congratulated Sean on his win and the support has been ‘overwhelming’, he said.

The local reaction when the news was posted on the Community Council Facebook page last Wednesday night was overwhelmingly supportive and complimentary towards Sean from many members of the community and beyond.

Speaking about Sean’s win, Cllr Frank O’Flynn who nominated him, said that he has known Sean for many years and ‘always gives 110% to everything he is involved in’.

“He is to the fore in voluntary activities and I think the people of Mitchelstown and surrounding areas are very lucky to have someone like Sean putting in so much work,” Cllr O’Flynn told The Avondhu.

Within The Avondhu area, other nominations included the Doneraile-based Travellers of North Cork group, Dick O’Brien from Castlelyons, Denis Cremin from Fermoy and Carrignavar Community Council.