Mitchelstown’s Cathal O'Mahony of Cork is presented with the Man of the Match award by Valerie Hedin following the EirGrid GAA Football All-Ireland U20 Championship Final match between Cork and Dublin at O’Moore Park in Portlaoise, Laois. (Pic: Harry Murphy/Sportsfile)

Dublin sharpshooter, Ciaran Archer, was named both Leinster and overall EirGrid U20 Player of the Year ahead of Munster’s Cathal O’Mahony (Mitchelstown and Cork), Connacht’s Liam Costello (Galway) and Ulster’s Sean Og McAleer (Tyrone), all of whom were named the top players from their provincial championships.

The ‘EirGrid 20 U20 Awards’, now in their fifth year, are run by championship sponsors EirGrid to recognise the outstanding talent at this age grade and are selected by the Gaelic Writers Association.

In addition, EirGrid has named the U20 Player and Manager of the year, selected from the top player and manager from each of the provincial championships.

Keith Ricken, who masterminded Cork’s emphatic comeback against Dublin in the All Ireland final, was named Munster and the overall EirGrid U20 Manager of the Year ahead of Leinster’s Tom Gray (Dublin), Connacht’s Padraic Joyce (Galway) and Ulster’s Paul Devlin (Tyrone). While Dublin sharpshooter, Ciaran Archer, was named both Leinster and overall EirGrid U20 Player of the Year.

Seven players from Cork

Cork, who won their 12th U20 (formerly U21) title, and first since 2009, when they overturned a seven-point deficit in the second half against Dublin, have seven players selected in the EirGrid 20 U20’s.

These are: Cathal O’Mahony, Josh O’Keeffe, Paul Ring, Peter O’Driscoll, Maurice Shanley, Brian Hartnett and Mark Cronin.

All Ireland finalists Dublin have four players included (Kieran Kennedy, Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne, Ciaran Archer and James Doran), as do Ulster champions Tyrone (Conal Grimes, Conor Quinn, Darragh Canavan and Sean Óg McAleer).

Connacht champions Galway have three players named on the panel (Oran Burke, Matthias Bairead and Liam Costello) with the remaining slots going to Mayo (Oisin Mullin) and Laois (Diarmuid Whelan).

EirGrid 20 U20s


1. Josh O’Keeffe (Cork), 2. Oran Burke (Galway).


3. Paul Ring (Cork), 4. Peter O’Driscoll (Cork), 5. Maurice Shanley (Cork), 6. Kieran Kennedy (Dublin), 7. Oisin Mullin (Mayo), 8. Conal Grimes (Tyrone), 9. Conor Quinn (Tyrone).


10. Brian Hartnett (Cork), 11. Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne (Dublin), 12. Matthias Bairead (Galway).


13. Cathal O’Mahony (Cork), 14. Mark Cronin (Cork), 15. Ciaran Archer (Dublin), 16. James Doran (Dublin), 17. Liam Costello (Galway), 18. Darragh Canavan (Tyrone), 19. Sean Óg McAleer (Tyrone), 20. Diarmuid Whelan (Laois).