National Pride of Place Awards for Ballyporeen and Kilworth

Heads held high at the INEC in Killarney as James Hackett (front) accepts the Pride of Place Award on behalf of Ballyporeen Community Council. Pictured l-r: Christopher Moran, Co-operation Ireland; Seamus Hennessy, Mike Geary and James Hackett of Ballyporeen Community Council; Margo Hayes, Tipperary County Council and George Jones, IPB Insurance. (Picture: Valerie O’Sullivan)

Ballyporeen Community Council have plenty to be proud of, as they scooped the top prize in their category at the national ipb Pride of Place Awards in Killarney.

Locally they were not the only group to successfully represent The Avondhu region, as Kilworth Community Council placed second in their category, meaning a duo of awardees in the area from just 12 categories.

Full story in this week’s Print & Digital Edition