Local researchers in top 1% ‘a fantastic achievement’

Ten APC Microbiome Ireland scientists feature in 2018 Highly Cited List, including front l-r: Professor Catherine Stanton, Teagasc; Professor Elke Arendt, UCC and Dr. Orla O'Sullivan, Teagasc; Back: Professor Paul Ross, UCC; Dr. Paul Cotter, Teagasc; Professor John Cryan, UCC and Professor Colin Hill UCC. Missing from the photo are Professor Ted Dinan, UCC; Professor Ger Fitzgerald, UCC and Professor Paul O'Toole, UCC. (Photo: Tomas Tyner, UCC)

Ten APC Microbiome Ireland researchers have been named in the 2018 world list of Highly Cited Researchers and four of those are from the locality, working at Teagasc Moorepark and in UCC. 

Paul Cotter, Catherine Stanton, Paul Ross and Orla O’Sullivan have all been ranked in the top 1% in their fields and are the most highly cited in research publications by their peers.

All those chosen work in the areas of food, microbiome and health.

Congratulating the ten researchers, Prof Mark Ferguson, Director General of Science Foundation Ireland and Chief Scientific Adviser to the Government of Ireland, said to have ten researchers who are working to solve some of the world’s biggest challenges in the areas of food, microbiome and health, and ranked in the top 1% of their fields alongside Nobel laureates, is ‘a fantastic achievement’.

Full story in this week’s Print & Digital Edition