Pictured at the Ard Fhéis Leaders awards were Margaret Conlon, Honorary Secretary, Fianna Fail, Kathleen Hanley, Liam Hanley, Cllr Deirdre O'Brien and Dara Calleary, T.D. Spokesman on Public Expenditure and Reform.

In recognition of his hard work and commitment, Liam Hanley was nominated for the Ard Fhéis Leaders award at this year’s Fianna Fáil Ard Fhéis.

Liam resides in Dromdeer, Doneraile and has dedicated a life time of service to the Fianna Fail Party and continues to be one of the most dedicated and prominent members of the party in the Cork East Constituency.

Cllr Deirdre O’Brien said she was ‘honoured’ to accompany Liam as he received his award and said it was ‘a great opportunity and well deserving recognition of Liam’s contribution to Fianna Fáil’.

A member since the late 1960s, Liam has served and continues to serve in many positions within the party.

Liam’s roles have included secretary of the Annakisha Cumman since the early 1970s, he is the present secretary and treasurer of Mallow Comhairle Ceantair and current president of the Mallow Comhairle Ceantair.

Liam has also served as Director of Elections for numerous campaigns and candidates. These include director of elections for Gerry Cronin for the 1979 European Elections, for Ted O’ Riordan Cork County Council, for Dan Joe Fitzgerald 1999 Local Elections and for Jerry Fitzpatrick.

Deputy Kevin O’Keeffe believes he is a most worthy recipient of this award. “He has and continues to be a most valuable member of the party in Cork East, a strong campaigner and has been of great assistance in all of my elections,” said Deputy O’Keefe.