John Feely Foundation Scholarships presented

Denis Drennan, president of ICMSA, with recipients of the John Feely Foundation Scholarships, l-r: Michael Tully, Birr, Co Offaly; Alex Redmond, Rosenallis, Co Laois; Eoin Murphy, Boherbue, Co Cork and Joseph Cronin, Farranfore, Co Kerry. (Pic: Don Moloney)

The four winners of the 2023 John Feely Foundation Scholarships were presented with their individual cheques for €1,500 at a reception held recently in ICMSA’s Limerick Head Office, John Feely House, also named after the hugely influential early leader of the organisation.

The draw is open to sons and daughters of ICMSA members engaged in their first year of studying farming or specified farm-related courses at accredited institutions or colleges. A scholarship is reserved for each of the ICMSA’s four regions and nominations must be made by a member and submitted from September to a published date before the AGM.

Michael Tully from Birr, Co Offaly, along with Alex Redmond, Co Laois; Eoin Murphy, Boherbue, Co Cork and Joseph Cronin, Co Kerry, were drawn at the ICMSA AGM held last November and travelled to collect their cheques.

Denis Drennan, president of ICMSA, appealed to the young farming students to stay in contact with the organisation and to engage with their fellow farmers through responsible groups who could analyse and help bring forward the solutions that would allow their own and future generations of Irish farmers to thrive.