Candidates for International Van of the Year 2017 announced

At a recent meeting of the International Van of the Year jury in Frankfurt, Germany, ten nominees have been announced as candidates for the 2017 International Van of the Year (IVOTY) award.

“Just like 2014, there are many contenders for the competition as it heads into its 26th year. The advent of Euro 6 engine emission legislation has led to an increased number of light commercial vehicle manufacturers introducing new models this year with their latest drivetrains. A long-list has been agreed by the jury, consisting of 24 leading LCV journalists representing countries across Europe and Russia. This list of 10 contenders will be initially voted upon to create a final shortlist of five vans that will then vie for the prestigious title,” explained Jarlath Sweeney, Chairman, IVOTY.

The announcement and presentation of the award will be made at the IAA CV Show in Hannover, Germany on 22 September 2016.

Candidates for the long-list are as follows:

  • Fiat Fiorino
  • Fiat Talento
  • Ford Transit Euro 6
  • Ford Transit Custom Euro 6
  • Hyundai H350
  • Iveco Daily Euro 6
  • Nissan NV300
  • PSA Peugeot Expert/Citroen Dispatch or Jumpy & Toyota Proace
  • PSA Peugeot Boxer/ Citroen Relay or Jumper Euro 6
  • Volkswagen Crafter

New Jury member for UK

George Barrow, Editor, Van Advisor at Road Transport Media has been elected to represent the UK in the International Van of the Year jury to replace Andy Salter, who has resigned.

“We welcome George’s appointment to represent the UK and look forward to working together on the jury and to his contribution in bringing the organisation to higher level. We are indeed sorry to see Andy Salter depart and thank him for hisinvaluable contribution and friendship to the jury and its members over the years. Since 2013, new members have been elected in five countries as part of the ongoing regeneration process within the organisation,” stated Jarlath Sweeney, Chairman, IVOTY.

Arjan Velthoven (NL) has been voted in to take up Andy’s position on the jury’s steering committee.