Thanks to the hard work of the organisers Ballyhooly GAA’s fund raising Golf Classic in Fermoy Golf Club on Friday last was once again a successful venture.

The showery weather was not ideal but there were no complaints at the very enjoyable prize giving in The Roundy House on Friday night. All Golf Classics need sponsors and a big thank you to our main sponsor main sponsor Bertie Gowen of Bertie Gowen Construction and to all the other sponsors who helped us out.

Also of course a big thank you to Denis Twomey and all the staff of Fermoy Golf Club where as usual everything was in order.

Killian McCarthy acted as MC at the prize giving on Friday night in the Roundy House. Thanks also to the Roundy House for the hospitality on the night.


1st Lourdes McCarthy’s team – Lourdes McCarthy, Kieran McCarthy, Koran Carr (vVouchers Thos Bryan); 2nd Paul Howard’s team – Barry Johnson, Dave O’Gorman, Billy Howard (vouchers Super-Valu); 3rd Killian McCarthy’s team – Killian McCarthy, Willie Morrison, Declan Magner (vouchers Herlihy’s Centra); 4th Jim Dowling’s team – Jim Dowling, Paul Hickey, Charlie O’Sullivan (vouchers Joe Murphy’s); 5th; Paddy Roche’s team – Paddy Roche, Ned O’Flynn, Dave Cusack (bottles Whiskey); Best non-golf team: Ballyhooly Tennis Club – Colm McCarthy, Joe Ahern, Ronan Barry (vouchers Grand Hotel); 2nd non-golf team – Seamie Roche, Tom Fleming, John Donnlan, Conor Donnellan (voucher Shinnick Spar); Longest Drive at 4th Hole – Kieran Byrne    (Zurich Golf Kit); Longest Drive at 9th Hole – Meabh Mcinnerney (Zurich Golf Kit); Nearest Pin 15th Hole – Billy Howard (Zurich Golf Kit).

Main Sponsor: Bertie Gowen Construction. Other Sponsors: Healy Crowley Solicitors, James Walsh, Solicitor, Johnny Buckley, Linehan Sliotars, Walshs Pharmacy, Eurohaul, Cargo Tec, Frank Nash, McMahons, CTR Car Boot Sale, The Barbers, Ml Ahern, Downeys, Costcutter, STR Metal, Medical Hall, Fermoy Nissan, Colours, East Cork Oil, Mike Cooney, CTR GAA, Cllr Frank O’Flynn, James Walsh Eng, McCarthy Insurances, Mike Dineen, Fermoy Print and Design, Jungheinrich, Fermoy Credit Union, Kevin O’Keeffe TD, North Cork GAA, Dairypower, Paul O’Driscoll, Paudie Burke, Denis Nolan, Dairygold.


1st Luke O’Connor, 2 Nights B&B in Radisson Blu Athlone (sponsor: Jonathan Woods); 2nd James Roche, Calor Gas Mini BBQ (sponsor: Calor Gas – Pete Sykes); 3rd Koran Carr, tyres (sponsor: Mike’s Tyres).


Ballyhooly 1-14 Newtownshandrum 0-17

James Roche was the Ballyhooly hero in Newtown on Thursday night when he finished Kevin Kiely’s well taken sideline cut to the net deep into injury time to give Ballyhooly a share of the spoils. Ballyhooly started brightly with early points from James Roche, Gerry O’Connor and Darragh O’Reilly but Newtown then took over and led by 0-9 to 0-6 after 20 mins – our scores came from Eamon O’Reilly, James Roche and Sean Linehan. Gerry O’Connor added 2 points from frees before the break to leave us a point adrift 0-9 to 0-8.

Both sides traded points early in the 2nd half – Ballyhooly had 3 from play from Kevin O’Driscoll now at No 14 and Kevin Kiely [2]. As the half progressed Newtown again got on top and despite points from Kevin O’Driscoll, Gerry O’Connor and James Roche we were 3 points adrift when James came with his late goal to secure another valuable league point.

We have three games left in this Cavanagh’s Division 1 Hurling League against Doneraile, Shanballymore and Balllyhea.

Foireann: Patrick O’Connor, Ivan Hegarty, Kevin O’Driscoll, Philip Leahy, Fintan Linehan, Kevin Kiely, Ml Hanrahan, Sean Linehan, James Roche, Darragh O’Reilly, Eamon O’Reilly, Gerry O’Connor, Cian O’Mahony, Patrick Leahy, Ricky Fraher.

Fir Ionaid used: Robert O’Gorman, Gearoid Nyhan, Adrian O’Driscoll. Reiteoir: Dave Copps [Ballyhea]


Blackwater Rovers 1-15 Doneraile 2-16

Doneraile scored 1-5 in the final minutes of this keenly contested U21-B Avondhu 1st Round Hurling C’ship game in Glanworth on Tuesday evening to give them a flattering 4 point winning margin. Blackwater Rovers have a few long term injuries to key players but the 15 on duty in Glanworth put in a fine hours hurling and were unlucky to lose this game.

Doneraile, though against the wind, got off to a good start and led by 0-3 to 0-0 after 12 mins. However with Sean Linehan in sparkling form at midfield and goalie Seamus Roche, Ml O’Connor, the Fox brothers Kevin and Seamus , Jack O’Connor and Paul O’Sullivan all doing well Blackwater began to function as a team and a succession of points from Jack O’Connor [2], Sean Linehan [2], and Paul O’Sullivan had the teams level at 0-5 all after 28 mins.

Then when our defence failed to clear Doneraile got goal no 1 in the 29 th min against the run of play. However Rovers hit back with points from Gearoid Nyhan and Sean Linehan to leave Doneraile ahead 1-5 to 0-7 at the break.

Doneraile now aided by the wind again got 2 early second half points but two long range Sean Linehan points from a frees and another from play by Eoin Buckley had Rovers level after 39 mins. Sean put us a point ahead in the 42nd min and after Doneraile got points in the 45th and 46th min he levelled the game once more in the 47th min.

The tempo of the game had upped at this stage and a goal from Jack O’Connor in the 49th min put us 3 points clear. However Doneraile hit back with points in the 50th and 51st min but Sean [52nd min] and Jack O’Connor [53rd min] extended our lead to 3 points – 1-14 to 1-11.

However it was the physically stronger Doneraile with defeat staring them in the face who got the vital 2nd goal in the 56th min and added 5 further points while we could only manage one from Sean Linehan.

Well done lads, hopefully we can advance through the losers round.

Congratulations to Doneraile and best of luck in the next round.

Foireann: Seamus Roche, Tom Angland, Gearoid Sheehan, Ml O’Connor, Patrick Angland, Kevin Fox, Sean Magner, Sean Linehan, Seamus Fox, Jack O’Connor, Paul O’Sullivan, Jack O’Regan, Robert O’Gorman, Eoin Buckley, Gearoid Nyhan.

Fir Ionaid used: Emmet O’Riordan,Sean Collins. Reireoir: Dave O’Farrell [Mitchelstown]


The numbers drawn in Grindels on Monday night were 7, 8 and 9. No winner of €4,000 jackpot. Lucky Dip winners €20 each: Cliona Wall c/ Olan Crowley; Padraig Geaney, Convamore; Elaine Kiely, Glaise na mBreac; Ellen Duggan, Liam Burke Tce.; Maurice O’Driscoll, Grange.

The next draw for a Jackpot of €4200 will be in The Roundy House on Monday 18th July.


Our opponents in The Hibernian Hotel Junior A Hurling C’ship are Kilworth. This game will be played on either Saturday 16th July or Saturday 23rd July. Venue is Fermoy and throw in is at 7.30 PM

Provisional Fixture: Friday 15th July. Walsh’s Pharmacy Junior B1 Football Championship SF Ballyhooly v Shanballymore

Check Facebook for fixtures. Main Club Sponsor: Mike’s Tyre Centre, Fermoy.