Positivity at Fermoy Forum AGM

AGM TIME FOR FORUM: Fermoy Forum members pictured prior to last Thursday's AGM in the Blackwater Valley Makers Centre in Fermoy, l-r: Niamh Quirke, Paul Kavanagh, Diarmuid Gowen, Cllr. Noel McCarthy, Deirdre McCarthy, Michael Lyons, Marie Barry, Maevita De Barros and David Horan. Missing from photograph: Jason McNamara, Tom Beresford and Dave Ryan. (Picture: John Ahern)

Fermoy Forum held their AGM in the Blackwater Valley Makers on July 16th, 2020.

In attendance were chairperson Marie Barry, Niamh Quirke, Paul Kavanagh, treasurer Diarmuid Gowen, Councillor Noel McCarthy, company secretary Deirdre McCarthy, Michael Lyons, chairperson Marie Barry, Maevita De Barros and David Horan. Apologies were received from vice chairperson David Ryan, Tom Beresford and Jason McNamara.

Marie Barry, chairperson, addressed the AGM to provide a short update on the impact of the coronavirus and also on the Forum’s strategy and results for 2019.

The Forum’s financial statements were adopted and the AGM also approved all of the resolutions on the agenda.

The AGM discharged three officers after four years of dedicated service: Marie Barry as chairperson, David Ryan as vice chairperson and Deirdre McCarthy as company secretary.

Diarmuid Gowen was re-elected as treasurer. Michael Lyons was elected as chairperson, David Horan as vice chairperson and Niamh Quirke was elected as company secretary.


Marie Barry, Deirdre McCarthy and David Ryan all remain on the executive committee of Fermoy Forum and are excited about the year ahead, albeit during challenging times with Covid-19.

Incoming chairperson Michael Lyons said: “It is an honour to be elected into this position at such a crucial time for the town of Fermoy. I am confident that together, we can continue to make Fermoy a great place to live, work and do business.”

Echoing the positive vibe, incoming vice chairperson David Horan added: “Our number one priority is to pursue the goals identified from the Fermoy Future workshops. Our strategy focus is founded on the objectives that were collectively contributed to by over 80 participants earlier this year.”