Teagasc Moorepark staff from the first open day in 1962, including, Michael J Walshe (3rd left, front row) pictured at the open day in 2015. Front row, l-r: John O'Brien, Jim O'Grady, Michael Walshe, Dan Browne, Pat Gleeson, Peg Shanahan, Deirdre Drinan and Roz McFeely. Second row, l-r: Matty Sweeney, Jack Shanahan, Hannah Shanahan, Kay Gleeson, Mary Nyhan, Sean Hegarty, Peggy McCarthy, Finbarr Drinan and Sean Donnellan. 3rd row, l-r: Jack O'Mahony, Kay Browne, Etty Kearney, Kay Gardiner, Kathleen Anglum, Veronica Whyte, Kay Lillis, Mary McKenna, Gertie O'Donovan, John Shanahan and Pat McFeely. 4th row, l-r: Kathleen Bermingham, Tom Bermingham, Bob Kearney, Jim McDonnell, Arthur Anglum, Pat Walshe, Mary Crowley, Maura Reidy, Siobhan Cahill and Sheila Hegarty. Back row, l-r: John O'Donoghue, Mick Reidy, Mick Joe Condon, Liam McGarry, Con Crowley, Aidan Conway, Tom Lillis, Tim Cogan and Maurice O'Donovan. Many of these fine people have gone to their eternal in recent years, though fondly remembered. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a n-anamacha dilse. (Picture: O'Gorman Photography)

Those with an association with Teagasc Moorepark were saddened to learn that Michael J Walshe who was instrumental in establishing the world renowned research facility passed away recently. 

Having graduated from UCD in 1954 with a first class honours degree in Agricultural Science, the Glen of Aherlow native was appointed ‘officer in charge’ at the An Foras Taluntais centre (Moorepark) in March, 1959. 

In time, the sprawling location (1,200 acres) between Fermoy and Kilworth would go on to become a nerve centre of cutting edge research, but as the 1950s came to a close, it was very much ‘a work in progress’.

Something that Kilworth native and former Moorepark employee, Sean Hegarty, can vouch for…

Full story in this week’s Print & Digital Edition