Looking back at December 1992 in The Avondhu

The water supply in Kilworth was making headlines in 1992, while in Beechfield, the possibility of introducing speed ramps was to be investigated. Some Avondhu headlines from December 1992.


Cllr Joe Sherlock claimed at a Northern division council meeting, that a 93 year old Mitchelstown woman who lived alone, did not have the basic necessity of running water, due to delays by central government in sanctioning funds. The lady was one of the Stag Park Group Water Scheme members, who had already lodged their monies to a bank account, however the Department of the Environment had been dragging its feet. Other cases of hardship mentioned, were of a farmer having to draw water from 4 miles away during the summer; a man who built a bungalow 3 years previously, but can’t live in it because of no supply; an individual who had purchased a site but who wouldn’t build until he received assurances of an adequate service. Fianna Fail Deputy, Ned O’Keeffe pointed out that that finance was to be made available in 1993; however Fine Gael’s Paul Bradford countered by saying Minister Michael Smith had written to him, stating that no money was available.

Residents in the Daly’s Terrace, Pound Lane and Glenseskin areas of Kilworth vented their frustration regarding the high volume of lime content in their water supply, in a letter read out by Cllr Joe Sherlock at Cork County Council’s Northern area meeting. Stating that they were sick and tired of all the ‘bullshit’ from politicians, they were looking for action to be taken, as many were finding it necessary to replace household appliances due to the hard water. However, acting county engineer Michael O’Brien pointed out this was “not unusual in North Cork, 75% of suppliers experience it. We are happy that the supply from Gowran bridge is drinkable and meets EC standards.” While assistant county manager, Des Wixted pointed out that individuals could take their own precautions to soften water.

Fermoy Garda Sergeant, Joe Watkins contacted The Avondhu in reply to certain accusations levelled against the force at a Fermoy UDC meeting. Sgt Watkins said he was “absolutely astonished” and “disappointed” to have read a report from the UDC, where a councillor maintained that parking regulations weren’t being enforced. The gardai had previously asked for public co-operation regarding parking in the town and had enforced fines where there was non co-operation from motorists. He stressed that if parking regulations “were to be enforced to the strict letter of the law”, there would be absolute outrage from traders and the UDC.

History in the making for the girls from the newly-built Nagle Rice co-ed secondary school, Doneraile who captured the school’s first cadet team county basketball final in the Neptune Stadium, Cork. They thrashed Blarney on a scoreline of 60-36, under the captaincy of Ballygown’s Martina Carey, who scored 25 points. The squad consisted of: Martina Carey (capt – 25), Patricia O’Callaghan (16), Claire O’Leary (8), Elaine Norris (4), Marie Walsh (5), Aoife Hallihan (2), Jennifer Deane, Deirdre Lane, Deirdre Moroney, Eilis O’Leary.

Some council news snippets from December 1992: A request for extra lighting at Church View, Bartlemy was to be looked into by the council, where 2 new houses had been erected, while Cllr Carey Joyce was looking for an extra light to be installed at Ballindangan Cross. The possibility of introducing speed ramps in Beechfield, Fermoy was to be investigated following concern by residents on speeding.

There was a county title heading to Rathcormac, when Bride Rovers captured the minor B league hurling title in Ballygiblin, defeating Avondhu champions Killavullen on a scoreline 2-14 to 1-3. A storming start for Rovers saw them notch 2-2 after only 12 minutes, the goals coming from Terry Broderick and Pat Walsh. Killavullen had it all to do in the second half, trailing by 2-7 to 0-2 at half-time, however a goal early in the second period gave them hope. Rovers’ though managed to fight hard and kept their opponents scoreless in the final 20 minutes, to secure the title. Team: Edmond Hoskins, Alan Broderick, Liam Barry, Eoin Murphy, Barry Murphy, M Walsh, David Barry, Johnny O’Callaghan, Kieran Fitzgerald, Jerry Broderick, Noel Hegarty, James Murphy, Pat Walsh, Pat Barry, Patrick Cotter. Subs: Batt McHugh and Donal Ryan.