Last Sunday evening at The Pound in Kildinan, a huge crowd gathered for the official unveiling of a unique monument erected to commemorate the Kildinan Athletic Club and all involved with it and those who laid the foundations of a great tradition and heritage.
John Arnold, one of an organising committee of seven, acted as MC. Ag caint as Gaeilge, he welcomed all present on a special and historic night.
Gerard Murphy then outlined the athletic tradition in the Kildinan area dating from the famous Phibbs brothers, Bill and Con, to the foundation of the club in 1938.
Full story in this week’s Print & Digital Edition