Shane and Eoin Hanley after winning the Perpetual Cup at the GR8.

GR8 2016 has come and gone, what a night it turned out to be. All our prayers were answered and the sun shone on us again this year. A total of 225 runners took part on the night with a lot of local support.

Overall male winner was Declan Moore representing Bilboa AC in a time of 25:57. First lady home was Emma Murphy representing St Finbarrs at a time of 28:20 smashing the previous ladies record. Congratulations to Shane Hanley who was the first local man home winning the Perpetual Cup.

There was a fantastic atmosphere from start to finish with great support out along the route which is a big boost to the runners especially as they near the graveyard facing into the last hill to reach the finish line.

Feedback from the night has been excellent and we would like to take this opportunity to thank the following: Mitchelstown Leisure Centre for their constant help in the run up to and on the night of the race.

Full report on this week’s Print & Digital Edition