Cllr Dawson new chair of Fermoy Municipal District

New Cathaoirleach of Fermoy Municipal District Cllr Kay Dawson, with her colleagues, Cllr Frank Roche (left) appointed Leas Cathaoirleach and Cllr Frank O'Flynn, outgoing Cathaoirleach, following Tuesday's Fermoy Municipal District meeting, held in Mitchelstown. (Picture: Niall O'Connor)

Mitchelstown councillor Kay Dawson has been elected Cathaoirleach of the Fermoy Municipal District. 

The Fine Gael member was appointed in an uncontested election at the monthly municipal district meeting in her home town this week. 

Cllr Dawson takes over from Cllr Frank O’Flynn as the de facto first citizen of Fermoy and all towns and villages within the Municipal District.  

Her council colleague Cllr Frank Roche was elected as Leas Cathaoirleach at the same meeting held in the council offices in Mitchelstown on Tuesday. 

Full report in this week’s Print & Digital Edition