Limerick City and County Council is to install 44 high specification CCTV cameras in 14 County Limerick towns as part of a major expansion of the CCTV network.

Contracts have been signed between Limerick City and County Council and Roadbridge to install the 44 high spec/ high quality cameras in 24 new locations across all 14 towns.

The towns are: Abbeyfeale; Adare; Askeaton; Caherconlish; Castleconnell; Cappamore; Croom; Foynes; Kilmallock; Murroe; Newcastle West; Pallasgreen; Patrickswell and Rathkeale.

The footage from these cameras will be monitored on a 24 hour basis seven days a week at Moyross Community Enterprise Centre. 

The centre in Moyross is being upgraded to accommodate the expansion of the scheme which will facilitate the recording of up to 500 CCTV cameras.

Mayor of the City and County of Limerick, Cllr Stephen Keary has welcomed the project.

“I’m delighted that the system is being installed as I’ve been asking for CCTV cameras, particularly in my electoral area of Adare/ Rathkeale for some time. This will be of great benefit for citizens living across rural parts of county Limerick.”