Bowls club celebrates 30 memorable years

Pictured in 2012/2013 were James Caplice, Finbarr Lawton, Pat Kent and Donie Forde.

Mitchelstown Bowls Club was formed on 13th September 1993 when, as Tom Lawton says, “Fr Browne put a gun to our head and made us come!”.

Fr Browne’s enthusiasm was matched by Canon Sheehan, who suggested the formation of the club 30 years ago, as there was ‘nothing happening’ in the Town Hall. They invited the group from Conna Bowling Club, who had formed two years earlier, to Mitchelstown to teach the game and a club was born.

Those original members included Phil Lawton and Tom Lawton, who have continued to play with the club to this day. In 1993 they were joined not only by Fr Browne and Canon Sheehan, but also Maureen Walsh, Elizabeth Lodge, Michael O’Brien, Tim Molan, Dick Cahill, John Sherlock, Jim Burke, Joe Caplice, Michael Walsh and John Lyons. 

Full story in this week’s Print & Digital Edition