37th Macra na Feirme National President and Vice Presidents announced

Pictured following the recent announcement of the 2019 election results at the Irish Farm Centre, Dublin are back l-r: Fergus O’Rourke (North West VP-elect), Gerard Mahon (Leinster VP-elect), Sean Wallace (Munster VP-elect) and front, Thomas Duffy (Macra na Feirme President-elect). (Picture: Paul O’Connor)

Thomas Duffy from Virginia, Co Cavan has been declared the 37th Macra na Feirme National President.

He has been a member of Ramor Macra since he was 17. Thomas is the current National Chair of Macra na Feirme and has also served as Macra’s Ag Affairs Vice Chairperson and Cavan’s Young Farmer Chair in the past.

A dairy farmer and part-time agricultural advisor, Thomas says he intends to bring ‘The drive, passion and ambition that is required to ensure that in its 75th year and beyond, Macra will be the voice of rural youth and agriculture.’


Results were also announced in the vice-presidential elections for Macra’s three regions, Munster, Leinster and the North West, with Sean Wallace from Donoughmore, Cork declared the new Munster Vice President.

Fergus O’Rourke from Carrigallen, Leitrim was declared the winner in the North West race, Gerard Mahon from Tullamore, Offaly has been elected as Leinster Vice President.

The three new vice-presidents will take up their positions alongside president-elect, Tomas Duffy, at Macra’s National AGM in Kildare on the 11th May.