Chairman of West Waterford Drama Festival Hugh Collins and his hardworking committee, oversaw yet another wonderfully successful 10 nights of top class theatre in St Michael’s Hall, Ballyduff.

Adjudicator Peter O’Driscoll, said the festival reflected all that was good about amateur dramatics in Ireland.

“It’s been a pleasure to be part of an event that brings together such a range of outstanding talent. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it and must remark on the enthusiasm and industry of those associated with this, the 35th staging of such a prestigious festival,” he said.

“It’s been a pleasure to be part of an event that brings together such a range of outstanding talent.”

The festival reached its high point last Saturday night, when Mr O’Driscoll opened the envelopes that revealed the winners of both open and confined categories. It was also a special evening for Dr Alfie O’Donovan who received the Seamus Aherne Memorial Award for ‘services rendered’ to the community and the festival.

Results – OPEN

Best Supporting Actress Caitlin Clauson – Kilrush Drama Group. Best Supporting Actor Ian Flavin – Kilmeen Drama Group. Best Actress Kirsty Burns – Nenagh Players. Best Actor Ger Liston – Shoestring Theatre Company.

Best Play ‘The Gigli Concert’ – Director Liam Howard – Palace Players Fermoy; 2nd ‘Run For Your Wife’ – Director Donie Walsh – Kilmeen Drama Group; 3rd ‘The Far Off Hills’ – Director Mick Byrne – Kilrush Drama Group.

Best Set Nenagh Players – ‘The Miracle Worker’. Best Lighting Brideview Drama Group – ‘Belfry’. Best Presentation Palace Players – ‘The Gigli Concert’. Most Entertaining Play – ‘Run For Your Wife’ – Kilmeen Drama Group. Golden Moment of Theatre award: JPW King (Sean Ahern – Palace Players) for ‘the song’ performance.

Special Adjudicator’s Awards: Katie Holly’s singing at the opening of ‘Sharon’s Grave’ (Shoestring) and the use of the ‘Sign Language’ in ‘Children of a Lesser God’ (Take 5).


The Seamus Aherne Memorial Award was presented to Dr O’Donovan of Ballyduff for his wonderful contribution to drama over the years.


Best Supporting Actress Ellen Quirke – Take 5 Drama Group. Best Supporting Actor: Charlie McCarthy – Kilworth Drama Group. Best Actress Patricia Coughlan – Kilworth Drama Group. Best Actor Fachtna O’Driscoll – Skibbereen Theatre Society.

Best Play ‘Children of a Lesser God’ – Director Noelle Clarke – Take 5 Drama Group; 2nd ‘The Graduate’ – Director Fidelma Meaney – Curtain Call Productions Dungarvan; 3rd ‘The Quiet Moment’ – Director Hilda Hegarty – Skibbereen Theatre Society.


The organising committee wish to publicly state their deep appreciation to everyone who contributed to the smooth running of this year’s festival – they are also most grateful for the continuing support of sponsors without whom the festival could not function.