Launch of Businesswoman of the Year Awards

Network Ireland’s National Executive at this year’s International Women’s Day event in Carton House, Co Kildare - back l-r: Dee O’Connor, Deirdre Martin, Maria Desmond, Network Ireland President Emma Early Murphy, Gillian Hennessy, Maura Glynn and Ciara Wilson; Front l-r: Amy O'Connor, Linda Codul, Noreen McKenzie and Treasa Haniffy. (Photo: Jill Meagher)

Network Ireland is encouraging women to apply for the prestigious Businesswoman of the Year Awards which recognise the achievements of talented and dedicated female professionals. The awards were officially launched at this year’s Network Ireland International Women’s Day event at Carton House, Co. Kildare this week, which was attended by business women from around the country and featured a stellar line-up of speakers.

The awards are divided into eight categories which each have a sustainability element to them. A new category has been added this year called Networker of the Year – recognising those who have used their Network Ireland membership to lead, support and collaborate with others while achieving their own goals.

The other seven categories are: Emerging Businesswoman, Solo Businesswoman, Established Businesswoman, Creative Professional, STEM Professional, Employee – Rising Star, and Employee – Shining Star.


Network Ireland is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year and National President Emma Early Murphy said it’s an important year for the organisation.

“I want women to celebrate how far we’ve come during those 40 years and acknowledge their own achievements in business. I’m delighted to launch the Businesswoman of the Year Awards at our International Women’s Day event and I encourage members to apply as it gives them an opportunity to review their current position and think about their future direction.”

16 local branches of Network Ireland will host an awards final and the winners will go forward to represent their branch at national level. Winners are chosen by a panel of business experts and the closing date for applications is Thursday, April 13th. The national awards take place in September.