John O’Shea names 26-man squad for Hungary and Portugal

Republic of Ireland Interim Head Coach John O’Shea has named a 26-man squad for the upcoming international friendlies against Hungary and Portugal.

Ireland are set to welcome Hungary to the Aviva Stadium on Tuesday, June 4, with kick-off at 7.45pm, before they travel to Aveiro to face Portugal on Tuesday, June 11.

Leicester City striker Tom Cannon receives his first senior international call-up following an impressive run for the Foxes towards the end of the season having recovered from a stress fracture injury earlier in the campaign. The 21-year old made one appearance for the Republic of Ireland U21s in 2-1 win over Iceland where he netted the opening goal.

Celtic centre-back Liam Scales returns to the squad having missed the March international window through injury whilst there is also a return for Stoke City left-back Enda Stevens.

Excelsior striker Troy Parrott, who recently netted a hat-trick in the Eredivisie relegation play-off, also returns to the squad having missed the international fixtures against Belgium and Switzerland earlier in the year.

Goalkeeper Max O’Leary comes into the squad after an impressive campaign for Bristol City whilst Fleetwood Town stopper David Harrington gets his first call-up to the senior international squad.

Goalkeeper Josh Keeley and midfielder Bosun Lawal will also report into the senior men’s international camp to train with the squad before linking up with Jim Crawford’s Ireland U21 squad for their upcoming fixtures against Croatia and England.

Tickets for the match against Hungary on Tuesday, June 4, with kick-off at 7.45pm, are on sale through Ticketmaster, with prices starting from just €30 as Ireland face their final home match before the UEFA Nations League campaign kicks-off in September.

Tickets are available to purchase here:


Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth), Max O’Leary (Bristol City), David Harrington (Fleetwood Town)
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolves), Shane Duffy (Norwich City), Dara O’Shea (Burnley), Jake O’Brien (Lyon), Andrew Omobamidele (Nottingham Forest), Liam Scales (Celtic), Robbie Brady (Preston North End), Enda Stevens (Stoke City).
Midfielders: Josh Cullen (Burnley), Finn Azaz (Middlesbrough), Jason Knight (Bristol City), Jamie McGrath (Aberdeen), Callum O’Dowda (Cardiff City), Will Smallbone (Southampton), Mark Sykes (Bristol City), Mikey Johnston (West Bromwich Albion, on loan from Celtic).
Forwards: Sammie Szmodics (Blackburn Rovers), Adam Idah (Celtic, on loan from Norwich City), Troy Parrott (Excelsior, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Michael Obafemi (Millwall, on loan from Burnley), Tom Cannon (Leicester City).

Fixtures – International Friendlies
04/06 – Republic of Ireland v Hungary, Aviva Stadium, 7.45pm
11/06 – Portugal v Republic of Ireland, Aveiro Municipal Stadium, 7.45pm