Fourth win for Palace Players

Palace Players cast and crew pictured with adjudicator Brendan Murray (seated centre), following their win with 'Chapatti' at the Claremorris Drama Festival on Saturday night. Seated l-r: Danny Buckley (Best Director), Sean Ahern (Best Actor), Mary Colbert (Best Actress) and Liam Howard. Back l-r: John Colbert, Tomas Quirke, Juliette Brennan, Aisling McGrath, Eleanor Buckley, Maureen Howard and Bryan Flynn.

The Palace Players recorded their fourth win with ‘Chapatti’ on Saturday night in Claremorris and took most of the awards there.

With Brendan Murray in the adjudicator’s chair, Sean Ahern and Mary Colbert scooped the top acting awards, Danny Buckley took the ‘best director’ award and the group, along with winning ‘best play’ in the open section, also won ‘best audience play’ as well as the Ray Leonard Blue Riband Trophy.

Their next and final outing of eight on the circuit is to Glenamaddy, Co Galway on Saturday night.

There have been a number of enquiries as to “when will the play be on again”?

Well, prior to the All-Ireland final in Athlone, they plan to stage the show in The Palace Theatre, Fermoy at the end of this month or early in May. Dates and times to be announced, so watch this space!