Ardpatrick crowned ‘Going For Gold’ champions 2019

Ardpatrick Tidy Towns Committee celebrating their win - front l-r: Eileen O'Sullivan, Peggy Lee, Ann McGrath and Catherine Herbert. Back l-r: David Best and Pat Casey. (Photo: Alan Place)

Jubilant celebrations greeted the announcement in the Strand Hotel, Limerick on Tuesday evening that Ardpatrick had won the overall award in the Limerick Going For Gold competition, aimed at making Limerick a cleaner, brighter place to work, live and visit, for 2019.

This comes hot on the heels of their bronze medal win in the National Tidy Towns last week. 

The competition is sponsored by the JP McManus Charitable Foundation, has a total prize pool of €70,000 and is organised by Limerick City and County Council.

Full story in this week’s Print & Digital Edition